13 November 2012

Two Université de Sherbrooke Professors Receive the Ernest C. Manning Foundation Innovation Award

Roger Lecompte and Réjean Fontaine
Roger Lecompte and Réjean Fontaine

Roger Lecompte, professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciencesof Université de Sherbrooke, and Réjean Fontaine, professor at the Faculty of Engineering, have received the Ernest C. Manning Foundation Innovation Award, one of the most prestigious innovation award in Canada, on October, 17th 2012.

The two laureates, also researchers at the Centre de recherche clinique Étienne-Le Bel (CRCELB– Clinical Research Centre) of the CHUS, were rewarded for their work on a LABPET positron emission tomograph. This technology, fully developed in Sherbrooke, is the first of its kind in the world and is used for medical research all over the planet.

The project developed by the two professors needed 10 years of research and the collaboration of many disciplines like nuclear medicine and electric engineering.

The Ernest C. Manning Foundation encourages and recognizes innovation in Canada since 1982. It rewards those who have shown innovative talent in the making and marketing of a new concept or a new process.

Source: Université de Sherbrooke


Back to the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sherbrooke Innopole’s mandate ends on March 31, 2024. We invite you to contact Entreprendre Sherbrooke or the Service du développement économique of the Ville de Sherbrooke for further services.
Thank you to all Sherbrooke industrial and technological businesses, as well as to all our partners for the trust granted since 2009!