13 April 2013

Université de Sherbrooke’s Rotary Ramjet Engine Named “2012 Discovery of the Year”

Already one of the ten discoveries of the year, the rotary ramjet—a revolutionary small engine developed at the Université de Sherbrooke —has just received the public prize from the magazine Québec Science. As a result, this hydrogen-fueled engine based on a new design has been termed “2012 Discovery of the Year.”

Several features make this engine stand out: small, powerful, and less polluting. The technology developed is likely to revolutionize energy production, especially for hybrid vehicles.


Martin Brouillette, David Rancourt, Mathieu Picard, and Jean-Sébastien Plante

According to many Québec Science readers, the rotary ramjet is “the discovery that will have the greatest impact on our lives in the near future.”

According to two of the inventors, Jean-Sébastien Plante and Martin Brouillette, “the engine is specially designed to use hydrogen but can be esily adapted to any other kind of fuel. Our technology will promote the development of new markets that will supersede the gas-turbine engine.”

The prototype has resulted from the work of three generations of researchers: in addition to Professors Plante and Brouillette from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, students Mathieu Picard and David Rancourt participated in the project.

This is the third time that the Québec Science public prize has been awarded to a University of Sherbrooke project.

Source: Université de Sherbrooke
Crédit photo: Michel Caron



» Université de Sherbrooke accounts for two of 10 discoveries of the year according to Québec Science

Back to the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sherbrooke Innopole is moving to the Quartier général de l’entrepreneuriat!

As of November 20, 2023, our addresses – physical and mailing – will change. Please consult them here.

Our team will mainly be teleworking during the moving phase, from November 20 to 30. We invite you to contact our professionals by email or telephone before coming to our offices.

We look forward to welcoming you to the QG on December 4!