31 October 2015

Two Sherbrooke Companies Earn Excellence Awards at Environment Gala

Technologie Demtroys and Oneka Technologies, two companies in the Cleantech key sector at Sherbrooke Innopole, were among the 2015 winners of the Prix d’excellence en environnement des Cantons-de-l’Est (Excellence Award in Environment in the Eastern Townships).

Finalistes - Gala environnement - Cantons-del'Est2

Nathalie Christen (Fondation estrienne en environnement), Myriam Bélisle (Sherbrooke Innopole), Gabriel Chabot (Technologie Demtroys), Denis Mailhot (Groupe Ge), Jean-Pierre Lavallée (Demtroys), Patrick Fontaine, Valérie Thibault, and Sébastien Manseau (Lekla)

Technologie Demtroys won the award in the Innovation en développement durable category (sustainable development innovation). The Sherbrooke company developed an innovative heating cost management system for apartment buildings. In addition to reducing power consumption and GHG emissions, the system reduces heating costs by 10% to 35%.

Since its inception in 2010, Demtroys has been the recipient of awards on several occasions: first prize at the national level in the 2011 Québec Entrepreneurship Contest, as well as the Petite et moyenne entreprise award for small and medium businesses, special mention for innovative SMEs, and the AIDE de la diversité culturelle award for cultural diversity at the 2015 Gala Reconnaissance Estrie held by the Chambre de commerce de Sherbrooke (Chamber of Commerce).

Oneka Technologies, for its part, received the Relève trophy for up-and-coming businesses. The mission of the company, founded in January 2015 by Dragan Tutić and Renaud Lafortune, is to market the floating autonomous desalination system developed as part of the Odyssée student project. The technology, which uses wave movement to produce drinking water, can desalinize 10 000 litres of water a day. Earlier in October, Oneka was presented with an award at the 2015 Forces Avenir Gala recognizing and promoting student engagement.

prix-excellence-environnementIn addition, the Fondation estrienne en environnement (Estrie foundation for the environment) attributed the Michel-Ledoux award to André Nault as a posthumous tribute.

The other winners are:

  • “Contribution personnelle” (personal contribution) category: Terri Monahan
  • “Petite entreprise ou institution” (small business or institution) category: Domaine Le Vertendre
  • “Municipalité, MRC ou organisme municipal”  (municipality, MRC or municipal organization) category: MRC de la Haute-Yamaska
  • “Groupe environnemental ou OBNL” (environmental group or NPO) category: Corridor appalachien
  • “Agricole ou forestier” (agricultural or forestry) category: Fiducie de recherche sur la forêt des Cantons-de-l’Est

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists of this 22nd gala!

Source: Fondation estrienne en environnement



» Government of Canada funds Technologie Demtroys Inc.

» La Fabrique and Oneka Technologies Receive Awards at the 2015 Forces Avenir Gala

Back to the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sherbrooke Innopole’s mandate ends on March 31, 2024. We invite you to contact Entreprendre Sherbrooke or the Service du développement économique of the Ville de Sherbrooke for further services.
Thank you to all Sherbrooke industrial and technological businesses, as well as to all our partners for the trust granted since 2009!